RSS Feed

Slatterys

Good evening,
Hope you have had a nice weekend and are enjoying your last few hours of relaxation before the week starts.

Last week was much more eventful than I first imagined. Tuesday was Shrove Tuesday or pancake day as it is more popularly known as these days. Work decided we would have a live cooking station and myself and the head chef would make pancakes to order for our customers.   Also celebrity chef Andrew Nutter was joining us as he was going to be filmed to promote his involvement with the sports relief event the BBC are organising .
I was ordered by the film crew to put pancake onto cook when they went live on air … No pressure there . Meanwhile  serving our customers came second to lunchtime news being filmed, luckily as employes of the BBC the customers were very understanding. I managed to ignore the camera,  stay focused and serve the customers. Later that evening I received a text and a Facebook message by friends telling me they had seen me on TV agh!!! However my husband, parents and myself missed it.

On Thursday a few of the pastry chefs from the company I work for all met up organized by the development and regional chef manager. I was over the moon as we met at Slatterys in Whitefield, near Bury. We met to talk about company objectives (the boring bit) then we got a talk by the man himself “John Slattery” then a tour round the kitchens. Now lets just pause for a minute here ……. this was my 3rd visit to the shop and the first time I went I turned into a little girl and started screaming. On the left hand side of the shop there is a magnificent display of sugar and chocolate wedding cakes. At the back of the shop there is a window so the customers can have a nosey at work in progress. There is also a chocolate display and counters with chocolates, cakes and other goodies for sale. So to meet the man himself and get to see where all these wonderful pastry and confectionary items were created and produced was an absolute gift.

25550226-200756.jpg25550226-200809.jpg25550226-200841.jpg25550226-200854.jpg

After our tour we then went back to the room where the meeting had been before the tour and there lay 8 types of cake mmmmm!!! Thursday afternoon re-started the spark inside me that had been dampened due to everyday life. Thank you to John Slattery for sharing his world with us all and giving me more inspiration and confirming that I did make the right  career choice 17 years ago. I would reccomend Slatterys to everybody and is a great destination place, however if you plan on eating in the cafe you  will need to book 2 weeks in advance. I have heard the Hot chocolate is a must have, if you ask me everything is.

I think I may have to make myself a baileys hot chocolate now.

Goodnight

Rose xxxx

http://www.slattery.co.uk

6 responses »

  1. Planning our wedding cake with John Slattery was a highlight of planning our day. The man’s a genius with cake. Glad you like him too, nice to know an expert agrees 🙂

    Reply
  2. It sounds like Paradise. I so want to go !!!

    Reply
  3. The hot chocolate is nice. Ahh, I remember the one you made for us at college when no other students turned up. Good times. Yours was better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

